Skip to main content


The Thomas C Chalmers Award

Thomas C Chalmers Award

Award presentation will take place at the closing plenary, 23 September 2013

Thomas C Chalmers, MD

The Thomas C Chalmers Award was established with individual donations to celebrate and recognise Tom's interests, and was awarded for the first time at the 2nd Cochrane Colloquium in Hamilton, Canada in 1994. The Award is given at each Cochrane Colloquium to the principal author of both the best oral and the best poster presentation addressing methodological issues related to systematic reviews given by an early career investigator. The presentations must demonstrate originality of thought, high quality science, relevance to the advancement of the science of systematic reviews, and clarity of presentation.

Presentations are judged by the Thomas C Chalmers Award Committee during the course of the Colloquium, and the two recipients receive a certificate and US$500 each.

The Chair of the Award Committee for 2013 is Yemisi Takwoingi. The Cochrane Operations Unit has administered the Award since 2005.

Eligibility criteria
To be considered eligible for the award for either an oral or a poster presentation,  the first author must be an early career investigator and the presenter at the Colloquium. An early career investigator is considered to be one who is (i) no more than 7 years after their last education or professional qualification (e.g. bachelor, diploma, masters, doctorate, etc.); and (ii) not having held an academic (or equivalent research-orientated) appointment for longer than 7 years in total. Career interruptions or delays for the purpose of childrearing, illness, health-related family responsibilities or non-research clinical training (residency, etc.) do not count towards these 7 years.

Assessment criteria
Eligible oral and poster presentations must demonstrate:
a) originality of thought;
b) high quality science;
c) relevance for the advancement of the science of systematic reviews;
d) clarity of presentation.

Previous recipients

The many previous recipients of the Thomas C Chalmers Award and more detailed information about the Award can be viewed here.